Japanese: Lesson 7 – Hiragana ‘ma’ series

Sorry everyone, I’ve been slacking on this blog. I’m going to do another post on navigation, but first I need to find the tripod for my (mother’s) camera so I can take accurate astrophotos. Anyways, this is the hiragana ま series. It’s pretty straight forward, unlike the last series which required a new pronunciation for ふ. Guess what? There’s another series coming which has a new pronunciation and it’s the whole series! We’re almost done with the hiragana though! How did you do on your last test? Keep practicing on kana you’re not good at.

ま ma

Look ma! Four hands! Not only is your ma terrified because you have four hands, but you also have a tail, and no head. You’re like mutated Santa Claus without a chimney.

み mi

21! 21! 21, marks the coming of age! み as in coming.

む mu

Mooo says the cow. This kana looks like a cow mooing.

め me

Looks a bit like an eye. In fact, め means “eye” in Japanese. Eyes are like cameras (say it like the Japanese: ka-me-rah), allowing us to see pigments.

も mo

Put one mo’ worm on that hook. The mo’ worms, the mo’ fish!

Alright, that’s it for this lesson. Oh, by the way, we’ll be skipping the “ya” series that would normally come next because the “ya” series doesn’t have 5 kana. See you next time!

« Previous Lesson | Lesson Directory | Next Lesson »

Leave a comment